Pantsy Plotter and the Templates of Story-Telling

I am a very careful plotter myself. I could not write a book of fiction (or one of non-fiction) myself without a useful set of tools. I do not use the tools described in this post, over the years I have created my own (according to my own unique specifications), but without the use of those tools I could not realistically write (much less write well) any complex work.

Study. Read. Write.

Some people fly by the seat of their pants when it comes to writing a novel. They just sit down and write, and hope for the best while they have a vague idea of what they want to write in their heads. These people are known as “Pantsers”.

In the other corner we have a group of writers we like to call “Plotters”. They plan chapter by chapter, outline their stories, research detailed descriptions, find photos or draw pictures of what their characters look like. The featured image above is JK Rowling’s outline for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, by the way.

View original post 692 more words

One thought on “Pantsy Plotter and the Templates of Story-Telling

I Look Forward to Your Reply

