How to find Critiques and Beta Readers For Science Fiction

Becky DeVendra

 Illustration of Gernsback's speculative article on what cities will be like in the futureAnne R. Allen has a great pots up called Beware Groupthink: 10 Red Flags to Watch For When Choosing a Critique Group.

Frankly, lots of it gave me the willies. The particular challenge I’m having with critiques is in finding someone who knows how Science Fiction works. I worked with a wonderful mystery author in 2010 who read all of my short stories. She gave me great pointers about plot and structure, but she often told me things like: “I’m trusting you with that electromagnetic radiation thing.  Can that happen? Beats me. I don’t read much Science Fiction.”

So, the challenge is not just in finding a good group of intelligent people who know how writing works, it’s in finding people who aren’t scared off by the expository writing found in most Sci-Fi. I’ll try to illustrate the problem. Let’s say, this is the opening line of a book:

“Sammy…

View original post 197 more words

One thought on “How to find Critiques and Beta Readers For Science Fiction

I Look Forward to Your Reply

