Writing Chameleon Songs With Friendly Inspiration

Inside a songwriter's mind

I’m a musician; I write songs. I just hope at the end of the day to tear a little corner off of the darkness. –Bono, of U2.

Performing Light With You at Manchester Regional Finals for Future Music Songwriting Competition 2015 Performing at Manchester Regional Finals for Future Music Songwriting Competition 2015

Darkness and Light. A recurring theme for most of us. Artistic competition is a dark place for me, yet, it would seem that it also illuminates hidden facets of my creative process. It would be remiss of me if I didn’t write about my songwriting competition experience in the context of my songwriting blog. This was my first foray into songwriting competition, specifically; though I’ve participated in a couple of open mic competitions at a pub. From what I can tell, there are a couple of flavours of songwriting contest:

  1. Mail in your stuff, and it gets judged somewhere far away, and you eventually hear back. Maybe.
  2. Perform your song live, get…

View original post 728 more words

I Look Forward to Your Reply

