Testing Oil Pastels for New Drawing

Experimentation is the very basis of High Achievement… so is rumination on what you have discovered.

Artwork by D. B. Clemons

I wanted to do some testing on the surface of the new drawing to see if my method was going to work the way I expected it to. I used a 2″ strip along the outer edge of the drawing as my work area.

angela_shawl2b_tests

I quickly see that the tone of the paper is not dark enough for the white pastel to show up as intended, so I use some Liquitex acrylic ink, neutral gray #5, to make it darker. The black oil pastel I’m using is my own, made with charcoal. The white oil pastel only brings up the ink value slightly, and gives a bluish tone, which I still think I can use, but it’s not as bright as I’d like to go. Since the paper has been sprayed with a coat of shellac primer, I can scratch through the ink to the paper below, which is a…

View original post 91 more words

I Look Forward to Your Reply

