Vintage Children’s Book Illustration Never Gets Old to Me

Yeah, me neither…

Kay De Garay

Enjoy these gorgeous illustrations from the 1920s edition of Children’s and Household Tales by the Brothers Grimm!

I love beautifully illustrated books, especially from the Golden Age of Children’s Book Illustration. So this edition from 1922 published by Braun & Schneider and illustrated by Hermann Vogel is right up my street.

Marrin's BookshopI found this edition of Grimm’s classic collection of fairy tales in a second-hand bookshop in Folkestone a few years ago when I was an art student. I chanced upon Marrin’s Bookshop on my way back from an exhibition my husband and I were helping out with, and I couldn’t resist having a nose around. It’s one of those fabulous places where the books are piled high and all over the place, making you feel like you’re trespassing into a magical cave filled with both gold and pyrite.

View original post 127 more words

One thought on “Vintage Children’s Book Illustration Never Gets Old to Me

  1. Hi there! Thanks for re-blogging, always pleased to hear the love of vintage children’s book illustration is staying alive and kicking! ☺

    Like

I Look Forward to Your Reply

