The Hymns of the Earth

Ancient Skies

20160509_124732

A Poem by St. Catherine of Siena

I wanted to be a hermit and only hear the hymns

of the earth, and the laughter of the sky,

and the sweet gossip of the creatures on my limbs

the forests.

I wanted to be a hermit and not see another face

look upon mine and tell me I was not

all the beauty in this

world.

For so many faces do that –

cage us.

The wings we have are so fragile

they can break from just

one word, or

a glance void

of love.

I wanted to live in that cloister of

light’s silence

because, is it not true, the heart

is so fragile and shy.

      

Poetry by St. Catherine of Siena (1347-1380)

Image © Copyright 2016, ancient skies

Peace and blessings to everyone.

“When we love people, we give them hope.”

View original post

I Look Forward to Your Reply

