appreciating other artists no.3

Coincidentally (if you believe in that kinda thing) I happened to be listening to a set of lectures today on Shakespeare by Harold Bloom at Yale.

His topic? – the play Julius Caesar.

words by beth

Twitter reminded me of this beautiful poetic piece by Shakespeare from Julius Caesar.


Antony speaks over Caesar’s body

O, pardon me, thou bleeding piece of earth,
That I am meek and gentle with these butchers!
Thou art the ruins of the noblest man
That ever lived in the tide of times.
Woe to the hand that shed this costly blood!
Over thy wounds now do I prophesy,—
Which, like dumb mouths, do ope their ruby lips,
To beg the voice and utterance of my tongue—
A curse shall light upon the limbs of men;
Domestic fury and fierce civil strife
Shall cumber all the parts of Italy;
Blood and destruction shall be so in use
And dreadful objects so familiar
That mothers shall but smile when they behold
Their infants quarter’d with the hands of war;
All pity choked with custom of fell deeds:
And Caesar’s spirit, ranging for revenge,

View original post 41 more words

OLD MAN FUNNY

OLD MAN FUNNY

Maugham laughed at the smartass remark, and then said, “Man, I wish I were as naturally funny as you.”

“Natural, hell,” Steinthal answered shaking his head. “My old man bred it into me. Nothing natural about that.”

Maugham looked at his friend quizzically.

“Seems like to me,” Maugham said almost reprovingly. “That there is everything natural about that.”

Steinthal looked at his friend as if considering what he had said.

“Yeah, you got a point I guess,” Steinthal replied. “But you’d just have to know my old man. He bred funny.”

from The Detective Steinthal

“Jumble City”

chris fraser on_line

goingtoast_megatoast1_082016_web

goingtoast_megatoast1_082016_pt1

goingtoast_megatoast1_082016_pt2

goingtoast_megatoast1_082016_pt3

goingtoast_megatoast1_082016_pt4

I posted these doodles on the goingtoast.com cartoon blog also. I had fun doing this with no preliminary pencil sketch, just letting it fly. I’m thinking that this could turn into a series incorporating some of the characters from the blog, perhaps following one of them on a journey. Let’s see if this doesn’t turn into another always ongoing unfinished project! Colour would be great too…

If you liked this, here’s more: https://chrisfraseronline.wordpress.com/category/illustration/

View original post

What is Happiness?

The Violet City

What is happiness?

My happiness comes in little poems,

Like the eye of the hurricane:

The moment of rest after one chaotic lifetime

And the next.

I’ve spent time hanging

On to every moment,

Capturing what I wanted to be my own.

They told me, “To find true Joy

Follow Christ on the difficult road that leads

To salvation.”

It is not easy, but it is the way

To Truth and Life.

I have sought happiness of my own strength

And have found myself wanting.

I have tangled webs so thick that

I am scared to break them.

I am the one thing between myself and Joy;

Me and my selfish mind

Which wants to run everything for itself.

There is a happiness which is beyond

Yourself, irrational

To the mind,

Which is why I could not grasp it.

It is the happiness of the one

Who seeks God and…

View original post 52 more words